A rant from a friend about Office 2007

I just got this from a friend and I had to share (my apologies for the language):

“Doug

So I’m sitting here and I’m at the computer.  Then I’m thinking about MS Word, you know the Word Processor software, which includes powerpoint and spreadsheet capabilities?  Well I tried using this program the other day called MS Word 2007.  Apparently this is like being on another planet using a dictation machine composed entirely out of Skrull technology.  And the whole time, I’m just getting madder and madder.  Why… doesn’t this program do ANYTHING?!?!?!  Once I figured out how to undo (and redo, although I got those confused a couple of times) and then how to save and print, I decided it might not be so bad.  I was WRONG.  There is a whole menu of options I have never even heard of (and still not sure how to describe them).  There are no menus, only buttons.  And what’s worst.  I mean, what’s WORST.  I thought I was down with being halfway decent at Excel.  This is something I’ll have to be able to do on my job on a daily basis.  I SPENT HALF AN HOUR TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW TO MAKE A GODDAMN CHART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I still haven’t figured out how to change the x and y axis titles!  :((((((((((((((

I have got to do something, invest in a tutorial or some books or something (I dont even own the software, I cant afford it!) because I can’t show up at a job and not know how to use print preview or create an inference.

Please, please tell me that MS Word is going to come out with a version in 2008

Name Changed To Protect Innocent

PS:  I know the software title says “2007” but I just used it for the first time last week.  Is that bad?”

7 Responses

  1. I am a bit confused by this post. First he seems to be expecting Word to be PowerPoint and Excel? presumably he means Office not Word. Then he spent half an hour trying to find “insert chart” on the ribbon? I mean you click on the insert tab then on the big chart picture? changing x and y axes – well its not really that hard is it? One click on layout within your chart ribbon and all the big axes buttons are there in front of you.
    i realise the change in UI is significant but this is a bit melodramatic isn’t it?

  2. The melodrama is exactly why I posted. I thought it was hilarious. Yes, he means Office not Word. This guy is not a techie.

    Just remember everyone, I didn’t write this, my friend sent it to me.

  3. I’ve been really disappointed in Vista and Office 2003. I use OpenOffice.org but when I visit relatives I inevitably have to help them with Vista or Office. Things just don’t work or just don’t work as expected. I think the usability has taken several steps backwards. Fortunately for me, OpenOffice.org’s word processor and spreadsheet work just like quattro pro, excel, amipro, wordperfect (graphical version), word, and all the other word processors and spreadsheets have for years. It just works.

  4. Well I didn’t really intend this for mass consumption, but I guess if I had thought about it I would have just used a few less caps and probably omitted the d-word. Although I admit it was all that I was thinking about when I was trying to use it. I’m not a techie, but I do know a thing or two about Office. The problem was that when I made the chart the X and Y axes were inverted (which makes no sense because it’s rows and not columnar). I still haven’t figured it out, and I still hate Office.

  5. haha, Mike, I changed the names to protect the guilty…until now…

  6. Well, I had the same reaction from about 10 people that I work with when we converted to Office 2007. They did not like the ribbons.

    I am a little more flexible. It took me awhile but I finally found everything. There is a document on Microsofts website that list the old commands in 2003 then tells you where to find it in 2007.

    Also I have found the “?” in the upper right hand corner can be helpful sometimes.

  7. It’s funny that there was another response to this today, as I was working with Word 2007 today and noticing how easy it was to make columns in the middle of a document. I did have some trouble copying and pasting things out of the columns, but all in all I was impressed. However, I very much do not like that once you change ribbons the basic font stuff goes away. All-in-all, I think I’ll probably stay with OOo for things I don’t need to send to people and of course on my Linux machines (all I have) at home, I won’t be using MS Office. However, we are such a MS shop at work things I send to people I’ll probably do in MS, alas.

Leave a Reply

