window decoration issues in Linux/wireless issues in Vista

So, I’m finishing up my first week with the pager and so far so good!

I actually fixed my window decoration issue in Linux over night.  I wrote the title to this post and left it open over night.  Turned out the fix was just metacity –replace.  You can see the thread at http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=823245.  Unfortunately, once I turn compiz back on the window decorations disappear, so the battle is won, but the war is not over.

As to the Vista wireless issues, I’ve got a Motion Computing LE1600 that will not update all the Windows Updates, namely “other hardware -Motion Computing Tablet PC Buttons” released 8/17/2008.  On top of this, I cannot find drivers for wireless (device manager calls it “Ethernet Controller”), Multimedia Audio Controller and Unknown device.  Thanks Vista, that’s helpful.  I don’t care much about any of these except the wireless.  You can read more about this issue at http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AlQKmN6AIe6Ex8JKm5U696rsy6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20080828171212AAEhZKW.

So, the only other Linux person in CaTS is leaving today.  Despite him not being able to help me with my dual monitor issue, he did try to help and someone willing to try is worth their weight in gold.  However, hopefully I won’t have any other issues once I get compiz working.  However, I do have two dead/dying hdd’s, so I doubt that will be the case.  I also have a new motherboard to install at some point, so that will likely have some issues too.  I think I can find people here to help me with hardware issues though, should I need help.  An hour and 13 minutes left of pager duty!

One Response

  1. […] stevequigley on Mon 08-12-2008 Best GNU/Linux Desktops of 2008 Saved by viraj on Sun 07-12-2008 window decoration issues in Linux/wireless issues in Vista Saved by kkprod on Sat 06-12-2008 Logitech Cordless Desktop LX700 Saved by bizuri on Thu […]

Leave a Reply

