So, you want a Europe recap?

Well, I don’t think it’s going to happen.  However, you can look at the pictures (which, as of this writing, are not all published, but should be in the next couple of days).

Instead of a recap, you’ll get me looking ahead, as is often the case.  My brother wants to go to the World Cup in South Africa next summer.  I’d like to do this too, but I don’t know if we’ll be able to get tickets and I’m not sure what the future holds as to going back to school.  As a fall back to both of those options, I spend some time tonight looking at another northern Europe trip…this time further north (than Uppsala, which was the furtherest north we got…and for those not familiar, that’s just north of Stockholm).

Right now, I’m looking at something like this:

Oslo to Trondheim

Trondheim to Åre (summer skiing, anyone?)

Åre to Umeå

Umeå to Kiruna

Kiruna to Rovaniemi

Rovaniemi to Åbo (aka Turku)

Turku to Helskinki

Now, there’s no way we can do Oslo, Turku and Helsinki justice in one day, but I did have trouble convincing Brenda there were interesting things to see in Helsinki, so maybe…

Obviously, the trip will be dependent on my travel partner.  I’d be more than happy to go with Brenda again, but we’ll see what happens.  Being more familiar with the country, we could definitely save some money and hassle next time.  I’d like to do some hiking in the northern parts, but I almost feel like that’s a trip in-and-of itself.  Maybe that’s what I should do and not try to cram in some Norway and Finland.  Cutting out more of Norway and just doing Oslo might make more sense.

This is one way to save money http://www.camping.se/templates/start____320.aspx but getting a tent over there could be a hassle…at least the one I’ve got won’t fit nicely in a back pack.  I suppose it could be tied on top.

I might want to invest in a GPS before going to far off the beaten path, but I do definitely need to take a closer look at http://www.visitsweden.com/sweden/Regions–Cities/Northern-Sweden/Outdoor-activities/Hiking-and-trekking/ also.

If I’m planning to go back, obviously I enjoyed myself. 🙂 Suggestions?  Thoughts on World Cup 2010 in South Africa?

One Response

Leave a Reply

