Top 10 places I’d like to live (because people love top 10 lists)

One of many blog posts I’ve started and then not finished until much later.

1. Chapel Hill (or, the Triangle)

Ok, this isn’t really a fair fight.  If Chapel Hill is the Southern Part of Heaven, I haven’t found the Northern Part yet…or maybe I did (keep reading).

2. Chicago

Great memories here.  US National Team plays here. Chicago Fire. Potential 2016 Olympics. NHL. They love Jordan (Tar Heel pride!) Public transit.  Sure, the airports suck, but it’d be better driving distance to my family in Kentucky and at least airline prices would be cheaper than out of Madison.

3. Boston

I hate Boston sports.  I mean, I know people love to hate The Yankees and I’m not a Yankees fan per se, but I do love seeing them beat the Red Sox.  I think it’s because somehow Boston sports mean more than in Chicago, LA or NYC.  I hate the Celtics.  I hate The Patriots.  I hate the Bruins.  I don’t really hate the Revolution, but hating a MLS team is like hating a teddy bear (look, I love the MLS, I can say that).  What’s funny though is I loved the time I was in Boston, I love that the FSF is there.  I’d love being on the East Coast again.  I love Boston’s history.  I love that it’s the Athens of America. Great punk/hardcore scene. Public transit.

4. Charlotte

This one probably doesn’t need a lot said. It’s all about the family for this one.  Plus, there’s a new train system and trains from Durham now. I hate NASCAR but whatever, that’s going to be on ESPN anywhere.  At least in Charlotte I can love NASCAR just a little for supporting the local economy.

5. DC

DC was our Chicago in Chapel Hill, though it was a little further.  If big bands came through, you might head up to DC if you were passionate.  Close enough to drive to NYC or Chapel Hill.  I flew out of DC to Copenhagen. I could get used to that.

6. Milwaukee

a year ago, there’s no way this would have been on the list. With Bucketworks, proximity to my new friends, Brewers and Bucks and the train to Chicago it’s definitely on the list.

7. NYC

NYC might be too big.  Might.  At least there’s a good punk scene.  US National Team plays games here.  Plenty of hockey. I thought hard about this one before moving to Wisconsin. Can’t say I didn’t make the best decision coming here but I can’t say it was the right move either.  Only way I’ll ever find out is to give it a shot.

8. Lexington, KY

While Louisville would be closer to family and I’ve spent more time there, I love college towns.  Sure, Louisville has a college…maybe more than one.  It’s not a college town. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that I’m a Wildcat fan.  Sure Chapel Hill is at the top of this list but my blood still runs a darker shade of blue. GO BIG BLUE!

9. London, UK

Ok, it’s true, I’ve never been to London.  However, I do know you can take the train from London to Paris and from Paris to the rest of Europe.  I absolutely loved my time in Europe.  Sure, it was great company and no work and maybe I could have gotten that in the US or somewhere else, but I really think I’m a developed-nation kind of guy and I’d really like to be where I speak the language.  Plus, it’s one of the furtherest west points in Europe such that I could get on planes back to the US.  They love football there too.  I’m talking Wayne Rooney not Michael Vick.  I’m not a big baseball fan, but I’ll certainly take that over cricket.  Don’t think I’d miss it though.  Might have to hope over to Sweden for my hockey fix in the winter.  And, actually, since I starting writing this article 3 weeks ago London might be further up the list.  I don’t feel like re-arranging though.  It’s publish or perish time for this entry!

10. Malmö, Sweden

Maybe Malmö is the Northern Part of Heaven.  Why not Stockholm you might ask?  Stockholm is huge.  Yes, I know Chicago is way up on the list and NYC makes an appearance, but I really think I’d like some place smaller.  You heard my arguments for those two cities, so I’m not going to rehash that here.  Malmö had a fun, beach atmosphere without being trashy like Myrtle Beach.  Malmö is where you get on the train to go to continental Europe, whereas with Stockholm I’d either need to fly or go through Malmö.  Plus, maybe I’d get to hang out with Ibrahimović and I’d certainly get to cheer for Malmö FF in their brand new stadium.  Another plus to living in Sweden? You get the ö key for free so it’s not a pain in the arse writing blog posts! (hey, look at that, I’m already practicing for London!)

13 Responses

  1. […] Top 10 places I’d like to live (because people love top 10 lists) « Bridging th… […]

  2. I’ve lived in Boston. On can live there as a tourist for years and not see everything. I worked in Cambridge. There were 80 excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walking distance of Harvard Square. Also two not-so-hot ones – but one of those had fabulous character, that made up for everything.

    I downgraded to Philly. Also has mass transit. Also has history. But rampant racism, and other isms. And people are trains from a young age to throw trash into the streets. Really, they’re born knowing better, but get trained while still in baby strollers. One of the things that keeps Philly poor is a 5% city income tax. No deductions, just 5% of gross. So if you make any money, you really want to live elsewhere. So i suppose Philly would be OK if you want to live on the street.

    Then, downgraded again to Detroit. I’ve actually worked in downtown Detroit. It’d be much better if they’d just stop doing above ground nuclear bomb testing there. No mass transit. No, really, the monorail is not mass transit. Walking is faster. You’d think that Detroit would be better than Philly, since it only has a 3% city income tax. It’s no wonder that the Mayor was indicted. Cash under the table isn’t taxed.

    • Is Z2 hiring a sys admin?

    • apparently I can’t leave another nested comment. weird.

      Anyway, I was a OS X server admin in the Communications Dept at UNC. I had to deal with Macs at the Development Office too and we have some here now. I also owned a Mac, so I don’t see that really being an issue aside from the fact I’ve not been the lead on a distributed network of Macs.

      • Any experience supporting Macs in the creative/design industry? With such (proprietary) apps as Adobe Creative Suite, QuarkXPress, Final Cut?

        If you mean “had to deal with Macs” the same way I “had to deal with Windows” then you really, really, really hate Macs. 🙂

  3. Yes, we had a marketing department which was entirely Macs, though to be fair I did very little with them. The thing I hated about the server addition is I would find documentation online that only applied to the consumer addition.

    You must forget that I have an undergraduate degree with a heavy emphasis in film/video. It wasn’t all production work, but I’ve certainly spent more hours than I care to remember in front of Final Cut.

  4. […] Top 10 places I’d like to live (because people love top 10 lists) « Bridging th… […]

  5. What about Australia? 🙂

    • Australia sounds nice, but I think the problem is it’s soooo far away from North Carolina. Perhaps if my family lived in California I’d feel differently about the situation. If you’ll notice, everything is in the northern hemisphere. I’ve never been to the southern hemisphere, though that will be changing this summer when I go to the World Cup.

  6. Funny to look back at this so many years later. Cincinnati, Chicago, DC, Baltimore, and Chapel Hill are all currently on the list. I lived in the Boston media market, but it definitely was not Boston. Live on the outskirts of the DC media market now, but definitely not DC. Not enough cycles to think about the top 10 right now, but seems likely I’ll be in the midwest, mid-atlantic, or south for the foreseeable future. That’s not so bad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

