Music Manumit, World Cup, missed a month and other news

Tom Ray, of Lorenzo’s Music, and I got the Music Manumit podcast going this weekend.  We had technical difficulties on the pilot episode, but Episode 0 will go up soon.  You can get my raw recording for the pilot epidsode.  It’s released under CC-BY-SA.  Also, you can get the unedited of the “second” show.  Note that the first is in flac (lossless) and the second is in ogg (due to problems the first time).  I also recorded on UStream.  I need to change the name of the USteam feed, but not going to worry about that now.  We’ve also got an IRC channel on Freenode called #musicmanumit.  If you’re not familiar with IRC there is a web client where you can name yourself whatever.  No need to register.  We are going to release a “New” show and a “Music-only” show.  Both should be in mp3 as well as ogg.  Though Tom and I both dislike mp3, we’re hoping to reach an audience that does not know about software freedom and free culture and help the understand the benefits and release there is a lot of enjoyable music out there in every genre.

June 10th I leave for the World Cup.  I will be blogging for Sportazine while there.  I ended up speaking a bit about my planning struggles on Music Manumit, even though it really had nothing to do with music.  We did discuss the opening ceremonies at the World Cup a it though.

Missed a blog post in May, but I’ve been hitting the dating scene hard and though I don’t know yet how things will turn out, I definitely have a keeper at the moment.  I also just moved, which is a painful process, but I really like my new place other than the loft bedroom being rather warm.  I don’t have Internet right now because TDS doesn’t do data-only to where I live and I had avoided Charter at first since their website does not support Linux.

One Response

  1. Just wanted to mention that I was sick in South Africa and thus did not blog on sportazine.com while there, but I will get pictures up on flickr and will write a recap tomorrow.

    Also, we’ve got a couple Music Manumit podcasts under our belt now. Please let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

