how do you chmod -R for perpetuity?

First off, if this is a bit incoherent, let me apologize and explain. The first thing I found out when I woke up this morning is that I had to go downtown for an emergency. It’s cold and raining. I do not have an umbrella while out of town. I have a rain jacket, but every other part of me was soaked. I had to take care of some things before leaving for the emergency. All-in-all, the emergency cost me 2+ hours of my day. I do not have 2+ hours to spare while in law school.

Separately, one of my friends got arrested and his mom has tried to call me a couple times. Remember I said I don’t have 2+ hours to spare. Yeah, this hasn’t gotten any better.

Now, some background to the issue at hand. Adding to my frustration this morning was that my SD card died, again. I think this is related to the slow as hell Internet here, but it’s not entirely clear to me why my SD cards all seem to die. I tossed two a couple of weeks ago. I left dd running on one of them for an entire week and it never finished. I have posted about the SD card issues several times over the past couple of years on my microblog site. No one has ever given any good reason as to why this happens. I would buy a new phone, but I am poor. I have tried to fix this issue in the past by buying new SD cards, but after buying however many I have bought (I think two, but I can’t find one of them…maybe I have forgotten throwing it away), I feel like I can’t afford to spend any more money on it (though given the amount of time I have spend on this today, I may change my mind about this).

More details on the issue at hand:

I am trying to use ext2 for my SD card rather than FAT because FAT craps out on me all the time. It has happened twice on my trip already and I have only been gone since late on Friday.

I can use chmod to set permissions to 777, but once an Android application makes a new dir, I cannot access those files. Specifically, I can download podcasts using BeyondPod, but then I cannot actually listen to those files until I have changed permissions. It looks like this from gnome-terminal (minus the changed username):

drwxrwxrwx  3 dw      10038  4096 2012-02-29 11:15 Android
drwxrwxrwx  4 dw      10067  4096 2012-02-29 14:17 BeyondPod
drwxrwxrwx  3 dw      10065  4096 2012-02-29 11:27 com.google.android.apps.scoreboard
drwx——  4 10021      10021  4096 2012-02-29 14:16 DCIM
drwxrwxrwx  2 dw root       16384 2012-02-29 11:00 lost+found
drwxrwxrwx  3 dw dw  4096 2012-02-29 12:55 Music

You can see, for example, that the camera application created DCIM, but left it as user 10021, not my user, which is the global owner of the SD card.

So, I did a bit of reading and it seems like I should be able to put apps in .android_secure. However, I cannot move any apps there. The internal storage on the Nexus One is quite small, so I can’t really install any apps without moving them to the

I tried using “Fix Permissions” but no permissions appeared to be fixed.

I tried to use “Root All to SD” and while it appears to have created a second partition and mounted it to /data/rallsd, I do not understand how to actually move apps. It also appears that Link2SD does not use that second partition, perhaps because it can’t or perhaps I do not know what I am doing.

 

So, to be clear, if I haven’t been in my rage, all I want to do is use ext2 on Android without having to change permissions every time an application creates a file. Please help me!

Leave a Reply

