Continuing the long tradition of throwing it over the wall…

I do speak a little meta in the block quote below, but I should say that my reason for dumping this here is that Sportazine is moving to be football (soccer) only. This article didn’t really seem to fit. There are some thoughts that are worth sharing though. The reason it stayed unpublished for so long is that it is unfinished, but let’s be honest, I’m never going to get around to finishing it, unless I end up going back and getting a PhD (which, if I did get a PhD, it’d be on the information required for making licensing decisions…so this particular piece of Internet culture would need to wait until post-doc)

This is one of the first posts I started at Sportazine, back in March of 2010. I last edited it on May 22, 2013. I started thinking about the topic for a couple of reasons. First, the guys on Linux Outlaws enjoy and occasionally discuss at least of a couple of sports (Dan is a LFC supporter and Fab is a hockey fan). Second, our lineage comes out of geekazine.com.

On top of that, I have a degree in Information Science and spent a decade working in IT. My roommate when I started Sportazine is a full-time software developer, but was a division I college athlete and currently competes in triathlons. I never would have thought of my roommate as a geek. He loves all the traditional American sports. For him, being a software developer is like being an accountant (my words). He’s not interested in tinkering. He never came to any of our Linux User Group meetings in Madison (which I ran).

So, what does it mean to be a geek these days? Some people seem to think that if you are an Apple fan-boy you are a geek. I guess I don’t really know what it means to be a geek. That’s one reason why I’ve struggled for so long to finish this article. The question lies at the heart of what Sportazine is, and thus I keep coming back to it.

1) What does it mean to be a sports fan?

2) What does it mean to be a geek?

The second question is a question for another place. Certainly the Internet and mainstream comic movies have changed the answer to the second, but let’s focus on the first.

Leave a Reply

